If you have been charged with a DWI in Missouri, not only are you facing criminal penalties, which may include jail time, fines, loss of driver’s license, and probation, but you are also facing administrative penalties from the Department of Revenue. Administrative penalties are separate, independent penalties from the criminal penalties.
If you have not had any prior alcohol-related suspensions or convictions within the past five years, your license will be suspended for 90 days. For the first 30 days of the suspension period, you are not allowed to drive at all. During the last 60 days of the suspension period, you may drive only in connection with your employment, school, and alcohol-treatment.
If you have a previous DWI or BAC conviction, administrative alcohol suspension or chemical refusal on your driving record within the past five years, the revocation period will be for one year, and you will not be eligible for limited driving privileges.
If you do not request a refusal hearing or if you lose your hearing, you will be given a one year license suspension by the Department of Revenue. If you have not previously refused a chemical test, you may be eligible to receive limited driving privileges for employment purposes after serving the first 90 days of the one year revocation period.
At Henderson Law Group, we handle cases ranging from a first-time DWI offense to felony DWI cases throughout Missouri and Illinois. Our experienced DWI lawyers understand this complex area of law, and know what steps to take to protect your rights. We will work tirelessly to obtain the best possible result for you. Contact us today for a free consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.