In Missouri, there are three degrees of assault – 1st, 2nd, and 3rd. First degree and second degree assault are both felony charges, while assault in the 3rd degree is a misdemeanor charge. Frequently, police officers will receive a disturbance call of some nature and then end up charging one or more individuals with assault in the third degree. Some examples include an argument between a spouse, parent, or neighbor and the police officer, despite lacking physical evidence, believes their version of events over your version of events.
In many instances where a police officer charges an individual with assault in the third degree, the officer fails to completely investigate what took place. As a result, many police reports in Missouri assault 3rd cases are poorly written, lack physical evidence, and omit critical witness’ names and statements. Accordingly, an assault case is usually not an open-and-shut case.
The St. Louis criminal defense lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. can help you or a loved one defend a Missouri assault case. Our St. Louis assault defense lawyers will mount an aggressive investigation and vigorous defense to help you overcome this very serious charge. If you or a loved is facing a Missouri or Illinois assault charge, call us today to schedule a free consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and are willing to travel throughout the Greater St. Louis area if necessary.