• 314.645.4400
  • Free Consultation
  • Call 24/7

Traffic

If you have been cited for a traffic violation in Missouri or Illinois, you should strongly consider speaking with an attorney before pleading guilty or mailing in the fine. Traffic violations have adverse effects on your driving record, add points to your license, significantly increase your insurance rates, and may cause your license to be suspended and/or revoked for a period of time. Also, certain traffic violations, depending on the jurisdiction, may carry a penalty which includes jail time. Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. understands the serious nature of traffic violations and that is why we are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for you.

  • -+

    Traffic Overview

  • -+

    Driving While Suspended

  • -+

    Hit and Run

  • -+

    Bench Warrant

Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. represents drivers who were ticketed or arrested for traffic offenses throughout the St. Louis metropolitan area and the state of Missouri, including the following traffic violations:

  • DWI / DUI
  • Driving while suspended/revoked
  • Failure to yield
  • Speeding or excessive speeding
  • Careless and imprudent driving
  • Driving without proof of insurance
  • Leaving the scene of an accident and/or hit and run
  • Stop sign violation
  • Endangering a highway worker/construction zone violations
  • Disobeying a traffic control device
  • Improper lane change
  • Improper turn Failure or improper signal
  • Following too closely
  • Driving too fast for conditions
  • Other moving violations

Traffic Law FAQ

Should I just pay the fine and plead guilty to the traffic citation?

While it may seem easier to simply mail in the fine or show up to court and plead guilty to the traffic offense, it will have a very negative impact on your driving record. In Missouri, pleading guilty to a speeding ticket or any other traffic violation will result in points being assessed against your license. The accumulation of points may result in suspension or revocation of your license and increased insurance rates.

Will Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. keep me from getting points assessed against my license?

In most cases, YES! The lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. will aggressively fight to prevent points being assessed against your license by either vigorously defending against the charge or by negotiating with the prosecutor to obtain a better deal when appropriate; a deal that doesn’t include points being assessed against your license.

Can I afford to hire a lawyer?

The question should be, can you really afford not to hire a lawyer. By hiring a lawyer, you typically will not have to appear in court. You will save significant expense and hassle by hiring a lawyer and will not have to take off from work or school to appear in court.

Will I have to go to court?

In most cases, you will not have to physically appear in court. By hiring Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C., we will appear in court on your behalf.

How much will my ticket cost me?

In most cases, a traffic violation will carry with it certain fines and court costs that you will have to pay. However, Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. will vigorously fight to minimize the fine that is assessed against you.

How do I hire the lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. to handle my traffic ticket?

In most cases you can hire the lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. without having to appear at our office. First, start by calling or emailing Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. Then, we will request certain information from you. Lastly, the lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. will begin representation on your case and stay in frequent contact with you regarding the case, including the final disposition.

Call the St. Louis and Jefferson County, MO Driving While Suspended/Revoked Lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C.

Contact the criminal defense lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. today for a free consultation and to learn how the law applies to your specific charge. We will work tirelessly to prevent you from serving any jail time, while minimizing the damage that can result from a driving while suspended/revoked charge. We understand the serious nature of a driving while suspended/revoked charge and that is why we are available 24/7.

St. Louis Driving While Suspended Lawyer

A charge of driving while revoked or driving while suspended can have a devastating impact by subjecting you to a hefty fine, a longer suspension or revocation period, and even jail time.

An individual’s driver’s license may be suspended or revoked for a variety of reasons. A judge may issue a driver’s license suspension order due to an individual’s failure to comply with a court order, failure to pay child support, failure to pay parking tickets, and/or failure to appear in court. The Missouri Department of Revenue may also administratively suspend a driver’s license. This typically occurs as a result of a driver accumulating too many points within a certain period of time for moving violations.

Accumulation of Points on Your Driving Record

If you accumulate a total of 4 points in 12 months, the Missouri Department of Revenue will send you a point accumulation advisory letter. This letter essentially serves as a warning to notify you that you are approaching the limit for the maximum points allowed on your driving record before you are suspended.

If you accumulate a total of 8 or more points in 18 months, your driving privilege will be suspended. Below are the consequences for accumulating 8 points in 18 months:

  • 1st suspension — 30 days
  • 2nd suspension — 60 days
  • 3rd (or subsequent) suspension — 90 days

Your driving privilege will be revoked for one year if you accumulate:

  • 12 or more points in 12 months
  • 18 or more points in 24 months
  • 24 or more points in 36 months

Penalties for Driving While Suspended/Revoked

A conviction of driving while suspended/revoked may be a misdemeanor offense or a felony offense, depending on the specific circumstances. A first offense of driving while suspended/revoked is classified as a Class D misdemeanor in Missouri. A second or third offense will be charged as a Class A misdemeanor.  Any subsequent offense can be charged as a Class E felony.

Call the St. Louis and Jefferson County, MO Driving While Suspended/Revoked Lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C.

Contact the criminal defense lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. today for a free consultation and to learn how the law applies to your specific charge. We will work tirelessly to prevent you from serving any jail time, while minimizing the damage that can result from a driving while suspended/revoked charge. We understand the serious nature of a driving while suspended/revoked charge and that is why we are available 24/7.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident Attorney

Leaving the scene of an accident is a criminal violation that can have serious consequences in Missouri. If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a hit and run accident, you need a qualified and skilled St. Louis hit and run defense lawyer.

Any person who is driving a vehicle and involved in a car accident resulting in injury or property damage must follow certain procedures immediately following the incident. In Missouri, a person commits the crime of leaving the scene of an accident when being the operator of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting an injury, death, or damage to property of another person and having knowledge of such accident, leaves the place of the accident without providing the other party or law enforcement his or her name, address, license number and driver license number.  If no law enforcement officer is in the vicinity, the driver must provide the information at the nearest law enforcement agency.

Penalties for a Hit and Run Charge in Missouri

Leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident is a Class A misdemeanor, except it will be classified as a Class E felony if the accident resulted in:

  • Physical injury to another party; or
  • Property damage in excess of one thousand dollars; or
  • If the defendant has previously pled guilty to or been found guilty of a violation of leaving the scene of an accident.

Contact a St. Louis Hit and Run Defense Lawyer

Leaving the scene of an accident is a very serious charge that requires the immediate assistance of an experienced and skilled St. Louis criminal defense attorney. At Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C., our criminal defense attorneys will carefully and thoroughly investigate all the facts and circumstances surrounding your arrest. We will aggressively fight to protect your rights and defend your freedom, while zealously working to obtain the best possible result for you. We understand the seriousness of a Missouri hit and run charge, and that is why we are available to assist you 24/7. Contact us today to learn more about how the law applies to your specific situation.

Missouri Bench Warrant Defense Law Firm

If you have an outstanding warrant for your arrest for failure to appear at a court appearance, you need the assistance of a skilled St. Louis warrant lawyer to address the situation before you are arrested at your home, during a traffic stop, or at your place of employment. At Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C., our criminal defense lawyers can proactively address your predicament before you are arrested due to the outstanding warrant.

What is a Bench Warrant?

A bench warrant is an order issued by a judge for the arrest of an individual who has committed some form of contempt against the court. Most often, bench warrants are issued by a judge when a person fails to appear at his or her court appearance. When a bench warrant is issued, it allows the police to find and arrest the individual, and bring him or her before the issuing judge to answer the charge of contempt. It is issued for the sole purpose of apprehending an individual who has violated an order or requirement of the court.

Not only may a judge issue a bench warrant for failing to appear at a court appearance, but a judge may also issue a bench warrant for failing to pay a court fine, failing to pay child support, failing to attend a court-mandated substance abuse class, or ignoring a subpoena to appear in court.

Call the St. Louis and Jefferson County, MO Driving While Suspended/Revoked Lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C.

Contact the criminal defense lawyers of Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. today for a free consultation and to learn how the law applies to your specific charge. We will work tirelessly to prevent you from serving any jail time, while minimizing the damage that can result from a driving while suspended/revoked charge. We understand the serious nature of a driving while suspended/revoked charge and that is why we are available 24/7.

If you are being investigated or have been charged with any traffic-related offense, it is vital that you seek aggressive and skilled representation from the outset. The lawyers at Henderson & Waterkotte, P.C. stand ready to defend your freedom. Call 314.645.4400 today to schedule a free consultation.

Other Service Areas